International Baccalaureate ( IB )

IB is an educational board that is recognized worldwide. This was introduced by International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO) in 1968. The organization was based on Geneva, Switzerland. It is a combination of three programs.

  • Phase I – PYP (Primary Years Program)
  • Phase II – MYP (Middle Years Program)
  • Phase III – DP (Diploma Program)

The Primary Years Program is for children under grade 5. The Middle Years Program is for children from grade 6 to grade 10 and the Diploma Program is for children who are at grade 11 and grade 12.

The IB educational system is more real-world based than application based. Examinations conducted by the IB schools test the knowledge of the students and not their speed or memory.

The system followed by the organization is also very different from the rest. It may be surprising to know that there are no examinations until a student completes the Middle Years Program. The school concentrates more on enabling the students to understand ‘how to learn’ rather than ‘what to learn’.

During the PYP and the MYP, there are particular course materials every student will have to complete. In the course of the DP, the students get to choose their elective subjects from a wide range of subjects. The training provided in the early stages of their education enables a student to make a choice on the subjects more effectively.

The good news is that although the PYP, MYP and the DP are a sequence of programs, they are offered separately since a lot students migrate from different educational boards to IB each academic year. Apart from these programs there are various other programs an IB school offers for the benefit of the students. IB scholarships are awarded during the DP program.

For more information click here